The New Man (Sonnet for Che)

The New Man (Sonnet for Che)

I am the New Man, who wastes no tears on
Precious rights, freedoms or civilities;
Who pays, in full, the blood of men anon
With mine - courage in exact quantities.
I am the New Man, who fathers many,
Teaches unselfishly, with mind and heart
I serve, using force where necessary,
The cause of those denied a start.
I am the New Man, and to the future
My legacy I bequeath with no shame:
Killing is as much a part of nature
As love; and, where tyrants reign, is the same.
Money is of no importance to me;
My nine millimeter's called Liberty.

-Darwin Franks, January 2007
About Darwin Franks

Filmmaker, Cinephile, Writer, Athiest, Civil Servant

Leave a Reply

